Sharing and Collaborating on FLOs
In the Home view, there are multiple folders to contain the FLOs you build. These are listed along the left pane of the window.
There are two folders at the top of the list:
My FLOs: FLOs stored in “My FLOs” are private so only you can see and use them.
Shared FLOs: FLOs moved into “Shared FLOs” are automatically shared with every user in your organization – including new people who are invited later. Everyone can view, run, edit, view FLO history, or delete any FLO in this folder so be careful what you share here.
Below the two built-in folders you’ll see a list other folders you’ve created or that have been shared with you. You can click “Create Folder” to add new ones.
All custom folders you create start out as private. When a custom folder is selected, you’ll see a “Sharing” button above the list of FLOs. Click it to decide who to share your folder with and how.
There are 4 roles a person may have for a custom folder:
- No Access
Does not see the folder and cannot run or view the FLOs.
- Run and View Only
Can view and run all FLOs but cannot create or edit FLOs or view FLO execution data.
- Run, View, History
Similar to “Run and View Only” but can also view FLO execution data. This is useful when you want to give a user permission to audit or debug FLO results while still protecting the FLO from unwanted edits.
- Full Access
Has full permission for the folder and all of its FLOs. Can create, edit, delete, view execution data, and change folder permissions.
A user’s role determines their permissions for the FLOs currently contained in the folder as well as FLOs that are added later.
Sharing Connections to Applications
FLOs typically contain events or actions that connect to one or more applications that require connections. Just as FLOs can be shared, connections to applications can also be shared.
There are 3 roles a person may have for a connection:
- Can Run
Able to run or edit a FLO that uses this connection, but only if it the FLO been shared. Cannot access or modify the connection options or add new events or actions using this connection.
- Can Use
Able to add new events and actions using this connection.
- Can Edit
Has full permission for the connection. Can modify, change permissions for, or delete this connection.
All new connections are “Can Run” for all other users by default so that FLOs will just work when shared. If you don’t want anybody to access the connection, don’t share any FLOs that use the connection. If you want to restrict access, share only in folders where you are the only one set to Can Edit for the folder.
To allow others to use the connection for new actions and in new FLOs, add them as “Can Use” and it will show up in their connection list, but they still won’t be able to modify the connection. To share the connection with full permission, you can assign additional individuals to “Can Edit” or, for shared company connections, you can set all users to have full permission.
To change how a connection you created is shared, click on the gear icon that appears to the right of the connection name and choose “edit permissions.” You’ll find your connections for a specific application on the first tab of any event or action card that connects to that application. Or, to find a full list of the connection you can edit or use, click the gear icon at the top-left of the Home screen (just below the company icon) and choose the Connections heading along the top.
Unable to edit permission for a connection you own: There was a bug that has been fixed that caused some connections to get in a funny state where it looks like nobody has “Can Edit” permission and everything in the Manage Permissions dialog is disabled. If you are the creator of the connection (shown in the top-left the dialog), click the “Remove Me” button. The connection will remain in your connections list, and when you return the Manage Permissions dialog, you should now be correctly listed as “Can Edit.”